The Radiation Safety Committee has the authority and responsibility delegated from the University President for developing and maintaining a radiation safety program for the University to ensure the safe handling of ionizing radiation in the University’s instructional, research, and operational programs.

Bylaws of the OSU Radiation Safety Committee are found in Chapter 10 of the Radiation Safety Manual


Radiation Safety Committee
100 Oak Creek Building
3015 SW Western Blvd
Corvallis, Oregon 97331-7405
Phone: (541) 737-2227
Fax: (541) 737-9090
[email protected]


The Radiation Safety Committee meets once per calendar quarter. 

Contact the Radiation Safety Office (541-737-2227) if you need accommodations to attend.



Scott Menn - Chair; Radiation Center 541-737-7051 email

Daniel Harlan – Secretary; Radiation Safety 541-737-7082 email

Emily Eidam -  College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences

Russel Turner - School of Nutrition and Public Health

Susanne Stieger-Vanegas - Veterinary Medicine

Theresa Filtz - Pharmacy 

Aaron Weiss - Nuclear Science and Engineering


Radiation Safety

The Radiation Safety group is charged with enforcement of all written directives of the OSU Radiation Safety Committee. Contact Radiation Safety personnel regarding services to researchers, laboratories and facilities using radioactive materials, ionizing radiation producing equipment, and lasers.