The OSU Safety Award is a university-wide award program that provides opportunities for students and employees to recognize their peers for their exceptional contributions toward improving the safety culture at Oregon State University. 

Recognition will occur annually at University Day starting in 2024.

About the Award

There are two different awards:

1. The OSU Exceptional Leadership in Safety AwarD - (Individual Award)

$250 monetary reward and framed certificate.

This award is presented to an individual who:

  • Promotes positive safety culture and models safe behavior; and/or 
  • Creates new or innovative ways of accomplishing health and safety objectives; and/or 
  • Demonstrates significant improvement over previous conditions; and/or
  • Works collaboratively to break down barriers and create relationships to help improve safety culture for their lab/shop/group, department, or team

2. The OSU Exceptional Safety Team Award - (Team Award) 

Catered lunch, to not exceed $500, along with a presentation of the Beaver Safety Trophy.

This award is presented to a team/lab/group of three or more individuals who:

  • Embraces change as an opportunity for growth and innovation within the field of safety; and/or
  • Takes a proactive approach toward finding sustainable solutions for safety challenges; and/or
  • Has a good safety culture that fosters open communication and the ability to discuss safety concerns and solutions; and/or
  • Demonstrates significant improvement over previous conditions or maintains high levels of safety standards within their work or unit

Must be an OSU employee (i.e. student employee, faculty, staff) working at least part-time;

  • Individual winner can only win once.
  • Must not be a safety professional or have safety as more than 50% of their job duties; and
  • Must advance/affect safety for more than just themselves.

To nominate, please fill out the Nomination Form

Email [email protected] if you have any questions.

Our selection team includes representatives from various colleges and departments where safety is part of their job description. Currently the selection team includes:

  • Carrie Burkholder, College of Agricultural Science
  • Debra De Loach, Environmental Health & Safety
  • Pete Loschl, Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Sciences
  • Ryan Mitchell, Carlson College of Veterinary Medicine 
  • Jenette Paul, Environmental Health & Safety 
  • Nominations are open from September 1 to April 1 each year
  • Winners chosen in April.
  • Awards presented at University Day in September.